1 Anxious Liberal


Becoming A Progressive, Democratic Party Again?
May 5, 2011, 7:53 am
Filed under: Democratizing the Liberal Party

I must say that I am happy to see some of the things being said and written by Liberals over the last few days.  Justin Trudeau has said that the work that needs to be done is at the ground level where the grassroots are and that we should NOT be expecting to return to power in four years.  Again, though, it isn’t just Justin that is raising these points.  Others are writing things that I have talked about for a long, long time now.  I doubt they got this from me, far from it.  However, cancelling the leadership race prevented Liberals from having these serious discussions.  This time around Liberals should take all the time necessary to get it right.  And, like I wrote yesterday, plan on an eight year rebuilding process.  You’re not going to go from 30 something seats to 155+.  But I am really excited by what I am seeing.  I am not excited enough to join, it’s far, far too late for that.  The Liberal Party needs to decentralize itself and become a grassroots, DEMOCRATIC party before I ever even consider joining again … and be THEE voice for progressives.  I don’t know yet that this is going to happen.

Comments are closed.



